The Tattooist of Auschwitz

AGE RATING: 13+

TEEN RATING: 4.1/5

TEEN OVERVIEW: Although often harrowing, the novel is a beautiful story based on the true life of Lale Skolov, ‘The Tattooist of Auschwitz’. Heather Morris creates an all to real tale of the horrors of the concentration camps and how a resilient person seemingly defied their situation and found love. Fans of Schindler’s List and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas need to read The Tattooist of Auschwitz.
Continue reading The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Eldest

AGE RATING: 13+

TEEN RATING: 4/5

TEEN OVERVIEW: I personally really enjoyed Eldest, however like many books from the Fantasy Genre, many people would often find certain parts extremely long and so, difficult to ‘bother’ continue reading. However if you do manage to ‘stick-it-out’ until the end, it’s certainly an incredibly rewarding read. The apparent slowness throughout the book only serves in my opinion to increase the importance of the rest of the book and the tension throughout, making it a strength rather than a weakness in my opinion. Definitely one of my favourite series of all time! Continue reading Eldest

War Horse

AGE RATING: 8+

TEEN RATING: 4.9/5

TEEN RATING: World War One was a torment for millions of people for four years, but it was also a living nightmare for other species… Michael Morpugo tells the tale of The Great War and its brutallity through the eyes of a horse, yet also presents a profound and powerful tale of love between human and horse. Magical, moving and unique, War Horse will make you cry and smile. Morpugo is a genius of a writer with a very distinctive and special ability to tell stories.   Continue reading War Horse