Killer T

AGE RATING: 15+

TEEN RATING: 3.8/5

TEEN OVERVIEW: Killer T starts off brilliantly, with a stunning story, perfectly set up to escalate into an insane plot. However, for whatever reason, Muchamore decided to write Killer T in a slightly ‘disjointed’ manner. Bounding forward in time, on occasion, meaning we lose track of what’s going on in the book and the book’s flow. Rather than being about it’s characters’ journey, Killer T is more about the concept of Gene editing. Great idea, however in my opinion, lacking slightly in it’s implementation. Continue reading Killer T

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

AGE RATING: 13+

TEEN RATING: 4.1/5

TEEN OVERVIEW: Although often harrowing, the novel is a beautiful story based on the true life of Lale Skolov, ‘The Tattooist of Auschwitz’. Heather Morris creates an all to real tale of the horrors of the concentration camps and how a resilient person seemingly defied their situation and found love. Fans of Schindler’s List and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas need to read The Tattooist of Auschwitz.
Continue reading The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Eldest

AGE RATING: 13+

TEEN RATING: 4/5

TEEN OVERVIEW: I personally really enjoyed Eldest, however like many books from the Fantasy Genre, many people would often find certain parts extremely long and so, difficult to ‘bother’ continue reading. However if you do manage to ‘stick-it-out’ until the end, it’s certainly an incredibly rewarding read. The apparent slowness throughout the book only serves in my opinion to increase the importance of the rest of the book and the tension throughout, making it a strength rather than a weakness in my opinion. Definitely one of my favourite series of all time! Continue reading Eldest

A Game of Thrones

AGE RATING: 16+

TEEN RATING: 4.3/5

TEEN OVERVIEW: A Game of Thrones is a captivating novel which draws readers into a world of their own. Bloody, brutal and breathtakingly bold, A Game of Thrones is sure to leave readers in shock and awe. George R.R. Martin has created an incredibly detailed and complex world unlike any other. However, as enjoying as it can be, it is also very offending and and includes very mature themes. Continue reading A Game of Thrones

Eragon

AGE RATING: 13+

TEEN RATING: 5/5

TEEN OVERVIEW: A simply astounding piece of work from Paolini, the sheer dept of his world putting the majority of the fantasy genre to shame. Eragon had me totally and absolutely glued to the pages, from the very beginning… Continue reading Eragon

Born a Crime

AGE RATING: 12+

TEEN RATING: 4.3/5

TEEN OVERVIEW: Honest and genuine, Born a Crime paints a very vivid and earnest picture of Trevor’s younger years. Although full of hilarious stories, the book never shies away from the harder side of Trevor’s youth. Every tale that Trevor tells is always as candid as can be, even if it doesn’t show Trevor’s best side. Born a Crime is one of the most sincere, funny and serious autobiographies there are. It is gift unto the world about life, love, loss through the medium of humour. Continue reading Born a Crime